Image Editing in Photoshop

In the past years of study, Adobe Photoshop is always one of important tools that helped me through various design projects. Now I am using the latest Adobe Photoshop CS6 which has been added more functions than the first edition I used. I could only keep learning those new functions and I never feel tired of it. I have tried some other image editing software before, but I always ended up with Photoshop again. Here I am going to play around with Photoshop to edit the beach photo below that I took before, let’s see if I can make it better than now.

Image

1. Cropping it to a appropriate size

First of all, I want to get rid of the bush at the bottom by using crop tool.

Image

Now, all I have in the picture is just beach, sea and sky.

Image

2. Adjusting the color

As we can see, the picture is too dark and it needs more color contrast, so I raised both of the brightness and contrast.

Image

And it becomes more legible.

Image

3. Fixing the over-exposure

Now I am about to fix the over-exposed sunlight on the right, for doing that, I duplicated the layer and changed the top one’s mode from ‘Normal’ to ‘Soft Light’, and then reduced the opacity to 35. Also, in the same layer, I used lasso tool to circled out the sunlight, and then raised up the value of highlights in shadows/highlights.

Image

And this is the final result! I’m quite happy with it and I did refer to my Photoshop textbook to guide me through the over-exposure fixing part. The thing I like best about Photoshop is that it’s full featured and really powerful for image professionals, It takes years of practice and learning to get things right.  I will keep practicing it until I can do amazing images like the proficients do.

Image

Leave a Reply

