Digital Drawing Techniques

I like drawing when I was a kid, and I still do.

Drawing on a computer is different; it involves less emotional expression but more precision. I remember how I felt uncomfortable when I started to use a stylus to draw things on the screen. However, after I gradually picked up the skills, I started to like digital drawing and even developed an own way to draw, which I took advantage of skills of traditional drawing. I personally like using Photoshop (bitmaps) because it is more capable of handling various properties’ images, and even creating complicated visuals for things like 3D imitation, photo montage, photo grafting, etc. And it performs much better with stylus, because it has accurate perceptions of pressure from the pen point. To put it simply, it could imitates hand drawing experience. But bitmaps are resolution dependent, it’s difficult to increase or decrease their size without sacrificing a degree of image quality.  It means when you reduce the size of a bitmap image, you must throw away pixels. When you increase the size of a bitmap image, the software has to create new pixels. When creating pixels, the software must estimate the color values of the new pixels based on the surrounding pixels, but it may distort the image. Conversely, vector graphics using the graphics function to record the color, size and other attributes. Zoom in and out of any object, no image distortion and will reduce quality. And it won’t affect the file size. So I commonly use Illustrator (vector) to create any text-related design, logo design, 2D animation design, which frequently requires different sizes of a same image to apply to certain conditions. Here are two graphic design works that I did in past study maybe could help you understand two types of graphics:

Image

Image

This set of vector clown characters that I designed which I reused in a following animation project, relies on the vector’s ‘unchangeable’ attribute. I was able to change their sizes without losing the qualities.

Image

This one was archived by tracing the pre-scanned hand drawing outlines with stylus, and filled in the colors in Photoshop.

Leave a Reply

