Search Engine Comparison (Google, DuckDuckGo, Instagrok)

Nowadays, when we mention the word ‘search engine’, I believe ‘Google’ is first one that pops up in most people’s mind. It is so important even it has become a verb that represents the behavior of searching information online: ‘What is the time in Berlin?’ ‘Just Google it.’

But today I am going to introduce two new search engines which serving quite different purposes with Google: DuckDuckGo and Instagrok. For comparing the differences, let’s search ‘iPhone 5s’ in three search engines, the reason I chose ‘iPhone 5s’ as an example because it is a product name and also a general term with less directional purposes, we will see what kind of purposive results that three search engines will lead us to.

Google

Firstly I searched ‘iPhone 5s’ in Google, the result page opens up very quickly and indicates Google found about 518,000,000 results in 0.27 seconds. But I definitely will not need all these results so let’s see what contents that Google brought out to us in the first page. Because I am using Google Australia, the initial results are some ads of iPhone 5s from different Australian telecom carriers, the next couple pages are ads and introductions from official Apple websites. The following contents include the smaller retailers’ ads, the reviews, the news, and the price comparisons. I will say these results are mostly commercial; even I did not type ‘price’ or ‘buy’ words along with ‘iPhone 5s’. So in this scenario, if I am buying a new iPhone and want to know where the good place to buy is, I prefer to use Google because it gives overall purchasing information but less technical results. I give Google 3/5.

Image

DuckDuckGo (DDG)

In DuckDuckGo’s result page, the first result is official Apple website; it also has the little ‘official’ icon next to it, which I think is very helpful for users not go onto some unreliable or false websites. Another significant difference compares to Google that I found is DDG refined each result’s title, it gave each title some key words of what this webpage is about, instead of the lengthy and jumbled title in Google. In the first page results, it dose have some commercials but they are way less than Google’s, it also includes results about iPhone apps, repairs, accessories, and operation system. In general, these results are more practical and functional than Google, which I believe are more often searched by users. I give DDG 5/5.

Image

Instagrok

After a few seconds loading, Instagrok’s result page really can’t make me accustomed to. Compares to Google and DDG’s traditional layout, its flash based website takes longer loading time than the other two, and its mind map form of site map is new and original but really hard to look at. Beside, after I typed in iPhone 5s, Instagrok automatically changed the results to iPhone 5 for some reasons, which I really can’t understand. It also has a side banner that includes different types of sources and some quizzes but the quantity is very limited. I think it is a very good concept that Instagrok divides results into different aspects in a form of mind map, which I think is good for academic research, because it could help users point out some key points to talk about, but its interface really needs to be worked out further to become more users friendly. I give Instagrok 2/5.

Image

Leave a Reply

