Industrial Media 1-2

I have done the article Reflective Writing by Jennifer Moon and I certainly had a fresh mind about how to write a good reflection. I remember the first time I was writing a reflection, I was confused and only put focus on how to finish it rather than really letting my mind flow.

However, just like Jenny said, it is also worth nothing that you will learn not only from the “in the head” reflection but from the process of representing the reflection itself. (Moon, J, 2004) I found out new thoughts are more likely coming up during the presentation process; some of the unsolved issues would be solved too. Therefore, I usually start my reflective writing with a brainstorm drawing, I put down everything that appears in my mind that I consider useful, even though they are irrelevant to each other, but following the writing goes further, they will be linked up and becoming valuable assets.

In Jenny’s Resource II she listed some of practical practices for enhancing the skills of reflective writing; Listen to the views of other is a great method that could release me under constraint from my own mindset. People have different views to an event because their different cultures, backgrounds, or ages. But we tend to assume they all see things in the same way as we do. For avoiding the monotonous content in our writings, most importantly is to let others understand and relate to the content I came up with.

Reference

Moon, Jennifer, A. A handbook of reflective and experiential learning : theory and practice, (p. 184-189, 204-209, 222-225). New York : RoutledgeFalmer, 2004

Leave a Reply

